If looking at photos and posts from your ex is getting you down, Facebook may soon have the answer for you.
The company says it’s testing a suite of new features that will allow the broken hearted to get a little bit of extra space.
In a blog posted today, the company says:
Starting today, we are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended. When people change their relationship status to indicate they are no longer in a relationship, they will be prompted to try these tools.
A key new option will be the ability to see less of a former partner’s name and photo, without unfriending them. Their posts wouldn’t show up in your newsfeed, and their name won’t pop up as a suggestion when you’re typing.
Another tool that will provide more privacy for the newly broken-up is an option allowing you you to limit how much of your status updates, photos, and videos your ex sees.
A third option will allow people to edit who can see their past posts with a former partner, and untag themselves in those posts.
The company says the new features are a part of an “ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives.”
The bad news? For now, the tools are being rolled out in the US-only.